​​​Glasgow Coma Scale

Background Information

GCS is the most common scoring system used to describe the level of consciousness in a person following a traumatic brain injury.  It is used to help gauge the severity of an acute brain injury.  The test is simple, reliable, and correlates well with outcome following severe brain injury.  Generally brain injury is classified as:

  • Severe: GCS 8 or less
  • Moderate: GCS 9-12
  • Mild: GCS 13-15

​​Follow this link for a little more information than that provided in the above snippet, or this link to view an authorititive source on the subject matter.

​My Recorded GCS Values (all 2015)

  • 03 on 31st July
  • 03 on 1st August
  • 03 on 2nd August
  • 03 on 3rd August
  • 03 on 15th August
  • 05 on 22nd August
  • ​07 on 27th August
  • ​11 on 29th August
  • 10 on 31st August
  • 11 on 4th September
  • 08 on 9th September
  • ​14 on 12th September
  • 14 on 24th September

The values shown above are all taken from a neuro-psychiatrist's report by simply searching for the term "GCS", follow this link to open the report as a PDF.

Incidental Note

​After my mother suffered heart attack symptoms in 2018, I accompanied her on the ambulance journey to hospital.  I enquired of GCS 3 during conversation with the paramedics, they said something long the lines of "It basically means you are dead."